Tags

, , ,

Three years ago tonight I was zipping up I-80 (or for you SoCal readers – the 80) to attend my first whelp of a Canine Companions breeder. I had seen and helped with quite a few whelps before but it had been a while and with Sabina recently selected as a breeder I figured it wouldn’t hurt to have a refresher. The very gracious Nash family allowed me to crash their whelp of breeder Keara, and by the glow of their family Christmas tree we welcomed to the world the litter known as the Yuletide Y’s.

So here I sit three years later by the glow of my own Christmas tree as Dave, Sabina and I watch over her fifth and final litter. Just now over a week old, it is amazing to see how much they have changed in few short days. It is bittersweet to know that this will be the last litter we are turning in for quite some time. But mostly it is humbling when I remember that there is someone out there already waiting for one of these pups to grow up and be their partner.

Sabina with puppies

Here they are!

Here we go. A new adventure with the A litter, and with any luck a continuing journey as we have asked to raise our next puppy from this litter. It’s fun (for us at least) to have a grand pup around the house. After this, I promised Dave, he can raise a black lab. I must have been a very good girl this year to get such an awesome Christmas present. Seven happy healthy beautiful baby beans – can’t think of anything else that I would want for Christmas.

